‘The Shape of Water’ and ‘Three Billboards’ share the Phoenix Critics Circle’s Best Picture award

On Dec. 15, the Phoenix Critics Circle, along with their friends and spouses, enjoyed a festive evening at the Phoenix Film Foundation office and announced its winners for the best films, performances and technical categories of 2017.

Guillermo del Toro’s “The Shape of Water” and Martin McDonagh’s “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” both took the top prize for Best Picture  – via a tie – during an evening of two other ties as well.   “Three Billboards” was the big winner with four wins, closely followed by Jordan Peele’s “Get Out” with three, including Best Horror Film, Best Thriller and Best Screenplay.

Timothee Chalamet (“Call Me by Your Name”) took the Best Actor award, and Sally Hawkins (“The Shape of Water”) and Frances McDormand (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”) shared Best Actress in a tie.

In the Special Achievement awards, Brooklynn Prince led the way with Best Debut for “The Florida Project”

All the winners and nominations are listed below:

Best Picture Winner (Tie): “The Shape of Water” and “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Other Nominees:


“The Florida Project”

“Lady Bird”


Best Comedy Film: “The Big Sick”

Other Nominees:

“The Disaster Artist”

“I, Tonya”

“Lady Bird”

“Logan Lucky”


Best Science Fiction Film: “Blade Runner 2049”

Other Nominees:


“The Shape of Water”

“War for Planet of the Apes”


Best Horror Film: “Get Out”

Other Nominees:

“Hounds of Love”


“It Comes at Night”



Best Mystery/Thriller Film: “Get Out”

Other Nominees:

“The Beguiled”

“The Killing of a Sacred Deer”


“Murder on the Orient Express”

“The Post”


“Wind River”


Best Animated Film: “Coco”

Other Nominees:

“The Breadwinner”

“Cars 3”

“The LEGO Batman Movie”

“Loving Vincent”


Best Foreign Language Film: “Raw”

Other Nominees:

“BPM (Beats per Minute)”

“In the Fade”

“The Square”



Best Documentary: “City of Ghosts”

Other Nominees:



“Whose Streets?”


Best Actor: Timothee Chalamet (“Call Me by Your Name”)

Other Nominees:

Daniel Day-Lewis (“The Phantom Thread”)

James Franco (“The Disaster Artist”)

Daniel Kaluuya (“Get Out”)

Gary Oldman (“Darkest Hour”)

Harry Dean Stanton (“Lucky”)


Best Actress (Tie): Sally Hawkins (“The Shape of Water”) and Frances McDormand (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”)

Other Nominees:

Jessica Chastain (“Molly’s Game”)

Margot Robbie (“I, Tonya”)

Saoirse Ronan (“Lady Bird”)


Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”)

Other Nominees:

Armie Hammer (“Call Me by Your Name”)

Michael Stuhlbarg (“Call Me by Your Name”)

Richard Jenkins (“The Shape of Water”)

Willem Dafoe (“The Florida Project”)


Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf (“Lady Bird”)

Other Nominees:

Allison Janney (“I, Tonya”)

Holly Hunter (“The Big Sick”)

Mary J. Blige (“Mudbound”)

Octavia Spencer (“The Shape of Water”)


Best Director: Christopher Nolan, “Dunkirk”

Other Nominees:

Edgar Wright (“Baby Driver”)

Greta Gerwig (“Lady Bird”)

Guillermo del Toro (“The Shape of Water”)

Jordan Peele (“Get Out”)

Sean Baker (“The Florida Project”)


Best Screenplay (Tie): Greta Gerwig (“Lady Bird”), Jordan Peele (“Get Out”) and Martin McDonagh (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”)

Other Nominees:

Aaron Sorkin (“Molly’s Game”)

Liz Hannah and Josh Singer (“The Post”)


Best Score: Jonny Greenwood (“Phantom Thread”)

Other Nominees:

Alexandre Desplat (“The Shape of Water”)

Benjamin Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer (“Blade Runner 2049)

Hans Zimmer (“Dunkirk”)


Special Achievement Awards:

Roger Deakins for cinematography in “Blade Runner 2049”

Andy Serkis for his work in the “Planet of the Apes” series

Brooklynn Prince, Best Debut in “The Florida Project”

John Williams for his scoring work in the “Star Wars” series


Lifetime Achievement Award: Harry Dean Stanton


Related posts

Leave a Comment